Skip to content

Strategic Leadership team

The NIHR Newcastle Biomedical Research Centre is led by a team of internationally-recognised clinicians and scientists, who provide overarching strategic direction for the BRC as well as specialist oversight for our six themes.

Professor Avan Sayer

Newcastle BRC Director and Ageing, sarcopenia and multimorbidity theme lead

Martin Dixon

Chief Operating Officer

Dame Jackie Daniel

Chief Executive, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor David Burn

Dementia Theme Lead and Pro-Vice Chancellor for the Faculty of Medical Sciences at Newcastle University

Professor Andrew Blamire

Dean, Newcastle University Translational and Clinical Research Institute

Professor John-Paul Taylor

Dementia, mental health and neurodegeneration theme lead

Professor Quentin M Anstee

Co-theme lead for Liver Disease, Multimorbidity and Lifestyle

Professor John Isaacs

Newcastle BRC Deputy Director and Research Director, Newcastle Hospitals

Professor Wan-Fai Ng

Musculoskeletal Disease and Inflammation Medicine theme lead

Professor Grainne Gorman

Neuromuscular Disease Theme Lead and Director, Wellcome Centre for Mitochondrial Research

Professor Volker Straub

Neuromuscular Disease Deputy Theme Lead

Professor Muzlifah Haniffa

Skin disease, oral disease and immunogenomics theme lead, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Champion

Professor Nick Reynolds

Skin disease, oral disease and immunogenomics co-Theme Lead

Professor Miles Witham

Ageing, sarcopenia and multimorbidity theme co-lead and Professor of Trials for Older People

Dr Chris Plummer

Informatics Lead, Newcastle BRC and Chief Clinical Informatics Officer, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Eileen Kaner

Director, NIHR Applied Research Collaboration, North East and North Cumbria

Professor Paul Watson

Director of the National Innovation Centre for Data and co-theme lead for Digital Health, Ageing Innovation and Inclusion